Spaghetti Carbonara with The Vegg

Today I made a dish which I didn’t eat for a long long time.
Even in the time before I was vegan it wasn’t one of my favorites, because of the raw egg inside. But now I have the perfect solution! The Vegg!! With this egg substitute which is actually like egg yolk but mainly made of yeast, I can make now easily all dishes for which I’m always told…no this is not possible to cook, there is egg inside… So… Now I can!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
Of course there are a lot of ways to substitute egg but with The Vegg it’s the easiest and consistence nearest I guess!
You just have to mix it with water and I was really surprised about what came out!! Something exactly like egg yolk but without cruelty to our poor little chickens and for sure much more healthier ๐Ÿ™‚
So lets start!

You need:
โ€ข spaghetti
โ€ข 1 tsp of the Vegg (like 2-3 yolks)
โ€ข 150 gram Seitan
โ€ข 50 margarine (Make sure it’s a vegan one)
โ€ข onion
โ€ข garlic
โ€ข muscat
โ€ข salt, pepper and oil

Start to cook the pasta and fry the Seitan, chopped in little pieces, with garlic and onion in olive oil.
Melt the margarine and add muscat, salt and pepper. Prepare the Vegg yolk: blend it in a cup with a hand blender or in a mini blender. I used of course my big smoothy blender and had a little disaster. So I had to add more of the Vegg and water to make it mix able! But the good thing: now I have something like 4 more egg yolks in my fridge and can make tomorrow French toast ๐Ÿ™‚
Ok but let’s go in with the recipe!
Blend The Vegg and give the amount of 3 egg yolks in a bowl, add the melted margarine with the spices and also the saitan, mix all and put directly the ready pasta into it.
Mix all well and if you feel like its good for the consistence, add a little pasta cooking water!
Ready and yummy !!!

20121218-163254.jpg

20121218-163309.jpg

Leave a Reply

